Eleutheria

Is the Greek term for ” Freedom ” .

Now , Freedom has always , always fascinated me , beckoned me , tempted me . It’s been a blessing at times , but even a struggle . It has meant a journey and a destination . It has been a spiritual quest and a spiritual reality : all at the same time .

Which took me to Google “freedom” !

From trying to understand it in my own personal experience , in journals , in what it means to a dancer like me ; to searching for it’s true meaning in Scripture, religious readings and the views of international speakers ;  I confess I love Freedom …

… Eleutheria ..

Going beyond cartwheels on sandy beaches and running in fields with your hair flying in the wind , Freedom is far more than savouring the joy of a visual depiction.

So I went straight to Google .

And Google took me straight to Eleutheria.

Now what’s that ?

In essence, Eleutheria is Greek for Freedom , but etymologically it’s means “arriving ” ( eleu ) “to where one loves “( eran ) . 

So I thought about it .

What is it that I love that I desire to arrive at ?

Truth .

Now that’s another favourite of mine ( this sure feels like confession time !) .

Okay, let’s focus .

Truth .

Truth about God .

Truth about Who I am in Him and how He sees me .

Truth about myself .

Truth sets us Free , as Scripture so accurately records it .

So they are connected .

And very much so .

ELEUTHERIA thus , becomes a journey of arriving at a place of TRUTH ; a sacred , pristine space within oneself where one knows who they are in Him and the absolute FREEDOM that  is found secure in such a Divine Revelation , needless to say an absolute surrender to His Highest Will , and an acceptance of the unsurpassable peace and joy that comes from relishing and allowing oneself to luxuriate in His Unconditional Love , a Love so pure that it’s neither subject to performance nor rejection , a Love so Faithful that it holds your deepest , darkest secrets in the magnanimous hands of Grace , a Love that transcends time and space and endures its way straight into Eternity : this LOVE is the TRUTH that is Constant for both , you and me .

Such are the tidings of Eleutheria!

Freedom … Eleutheria… Truth !

Safe to say that Freedom reveals itself as Truth .

And Truth brings about Freedom .

Two sides of the same coin ?

I think so .

🔑

Leave a Reply

